question for the [ms] IT industry crew...

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • anonin
    Juvenile Delinquent
    • Oct 2005

question for the [ms] IT industry crew...

I'm trying to gather as much information as i can about the IT industry and how to break into it (get a job). How did you get a job in the IT field? did certifications help you land the job? currently im studying computer science with hope of getting a bachelors, yet i have no IT related work experience, ive heard that its really tough to get in but once your in your set. What do entry level IT jobs look like? sorry about all the questions.

• speciale
    Are you Kidding me??
    • Dec 2005

Re: question for the [ms] IT industry crew...

I got in the IT field at one of the worse times, when the tech market was at its lowest. I started out working tech support for a big software company, with low pay. There, I was given every tool I needed to learn more and more even on things that I didn't need for my job. The company paid me back for my certs too. Now, I manage a pretty good size Server Enviornment for a medical company. For me, getting in a good support department helped me learn quick and saved me money on having to pay for studying materials. Also, with each customer you work with, that is a new person you can network with later down your career path.

Now every support department is not like that. I heard horror stories about other companies which treated their employees like shit. Find out what it is that you want to do, then study in that area. Such as databases, Networking, etc. There are plenty of tools out on the web that can help you.

Also, I am assuming you are in the Charlotte area, and they do have a lot financial companies there and not to mention you are close to the Research Triangle in Raliegh. Feel free to PM me if you have any questions. No matter what, expect to start at the bottom, but hard work will get you moving quick. Any ways, that is how I got in